Efik Eburutu of Nigeria    
Edidiana Edi Uforo

Obong of Calabar
Edidem Ekpo Okon Abasi Otu V

Palace of the Obong of Calabar

Address of the Palace of the Obong of Calabar

The palace of the Obong of Calabar is located at No.7 Efanga Ansa Street, Calabar, Cross River State, Nigeria. A major access road to the palace is Egerton Street coming from Prince Bassey-Duke Ephraim’s Effigy round-about where the Kingdom’s historical market, Watt market, is located. This major street also harbors the Sacred Heart Cathedral of the Roman Catholic Church and throws Efanga Ansa Street and hence the Palace to the right immediately after the Presbyterian Church of Nigeria, Henshaw Town Parish.

Feature descriptions of the Palace

Significant features of the Palace include an office for the Obong of Calabar, where he receives visitors without ceremonies and to which he retires after a long council meeting. There are offices for the Chairman of Etuboms’ Council and other administrative staff of the palace. The Palace also has a large conference hall where Etuboms’ council and OCEF meetings hold and where large visiting groups and organizations are often received. Other features of the Palace include a large comfortable state-of-the art reception hall, a secretariat, library, cafeteria and a large play ground where anniversaries and other celebrations are held.

Organization of the Palace

  1. Etubom’s Traditional Council (ETC)
  2. Composition of ETC

The Etuboms’ Traditional Council is composed of the Obong of Calabar, Efik traditional rulers who have been made paramount rulers of Local Government Areas in Nigeria, Etubom and two advisers from each accredited house, Etubom and one adviser from each accredited sub-house and Obong’s special advisers not more than five.

Organization of  ETC

The Etuboms’ Traditional Council is headed by a chairman; an Etubom selected from amongst accredited members of the council who hails from a geographical bloc of the Efik kingdom different from that of the Obong. The council additionally has a secretary, treasurer and financial secretary as principal officers who could be Etubom, Etinyin or adviser.

Functions of ETC

The Etuboms’ Traditional council legislates on traditional matters like the conduct of traditional obsequies of a deceased Obong. They are also saddled with the task of selecting a successor Obong in the Etuboms’ conclave as well as screening candidates for induction as Etubom or advisers into the royal court of the Obong of Calabar. They generally oversee the affairs of all Efik houses, families and communities and remain the ultimate custodian and interpreters of Efik traditions, norms and values.

  1. Obong of Calabar Executive Forum (OCEF)
  2. Composition of OCEF

The Forum, as it is called, is composed of Efik sons and daughters appointed by the Obong based on merit and drawn from an even spread of Efik families, houses and communities. Its membership is open to all Efik including Etubom, Etinyin, Advisers, Chiefs and others who possess the requisite qualification, knowledge or skills relevant for the functions of the Forum.

Organization of OCEF

The Forum’s president is the Obong of Calabar who appoints a competent chairman and secretary to provide him with the necessary assistance in the supervision and coordination of the Executive forum. Based on the functions of the Forum, the chairman breaks the forum into committees and appoints a chairman and members for each. A chairman of a Forum committee then appoints a competent secretary from the pool of its members. At the moment there are about sixteen of such committees.

Functions of OCEF

The Obong of Calabar Executive forum is responsible for quite a number of functions including information and public relations, development of capital projects and infrastructures, Efik language development, Museum, archives and documentation, planning and research, finance, legal affairs and arbitration, investment and economic affairs, diplomatic and liaison affairs, peace, security and general administration of the palace.


  • Chairman:        High Chief Dr. Asuquo Ekpenyong, OON
  • Secretary:        High Chief Dr. Emmanuel Nsan, OFR
  • Chairmen and Secretaries of Sub-Committees
  • Information and Public Relations
  • Chief Victor Effiom (Chairman)
  • Princess Afi-B Ekpenyong (Secretary)
  • Capital Projects and Infrastructure
  • Chief Gershom Henshaw (Chairman)
  • High Chief Edem Effanga Henshaw (Secretary)
  • Efik Language Development and Social Affairs
  • Dr. Offiong Ani Offiong (Chairman)
  • Dr. Maurice Ekpenyong (Secretary)
  • Museum, Archives and Documentation
  • Etinyin Orok Orok Efiom Duke (Chairman)
  • Lady Dr. (Mrs.) Roibito Ekpiken Ekanem (Secretary)
  • Planning and Research
  • High Chief Prof. Eyo Etim Nyong (Chairman)
  • Prof. Ndem Ayara (Secretary)
  • Women Affairs
  • Rev. Chief (Mrs.) Grace Ekanem (Chairman)
  • Pastor Barr. (Mrs.) Rosemary Archibong (Secretary)
  • Youth Affairs
  • Hon. Chief Maurice Orok Edem (Chairman)
  • Mr. Charles Obo (Secretary)
  • Finance
  • Senator Princess Florence Ita-Giwa, OON (Chairman)
  • Chief Charles Okon (Secretary)
  • Investment and Economic Affairs
  • Senator Bassey Ewa Henshaw (Chairman)
  • Mr. Gershom Davis (Secretary)
  • Diplomatic and Liaison Affairs
  • Hon. Amb. (Mrs.) Nkoyo Toyo (Chairman)
  • High Chief Archibong A. Omon (Secretary)
  • Special Projects
  • Mrs. Edak Iwuchukwu (Chairman)
  • Ntufam Engr. Edet Edem (Secretary)
  • Peace and Security
  • Chief Barr. Callistus Effiom Bassey, DCP (rtd.) (Chairman)
  • Chief Col. Effiong G. Edet (rtd.) (Secretary)
  • General Administration, Palace Business and Protocol
  • Alhaji Prince Edem B. E. Adam III (Chairman)
  • HH Etinyin Bassey E. Bassey-Duke (Secretary)
  • Legal and Arbitration
  • Barr. (Mrs.) Nella Ewa Rabana, SAN (Chairman)
  • Barr. Chief Ekpenyong Ndiyo (Secretary)
  • Education
  • Prof. Offiong E. Offiong (Chairman)
  • Chief Dr. James Mkpang Boco (Secretary)
  • Entrepreneurial  Development
  • Mr. Essien Ukorebi (Chairman)
  • Mr. John Etim (Secretary)
  • Welfare
  • Elder High Chief (Mrs.) Minika Etim James (Chairman)
  • Mrs. Ekanem Esuabanga (Secretary)
  • Cultural and Creative Arts
  • Senator Patrick Ani (Chairman)
  • Mr. Essien Ekpenyong Nkanga (Secretary)
  • Political and Community Affairs
  • Arch Bishop Archibong Archibong (Chairman)
  • Dr. (Mrs.) Anthonia Monkom (Secretary)
  • Special Members:
  • HE Mr. Donald Duke, CON
  • High Chief Edem Duke
  • Etinyin Dr. Joe Duke II
  • Etinyin Arc. Bassey Eyo Ndem
  • Senator Bassey E. Otu
  • Ntufam Eyo Nsa Whiley
  • Ms. Anne Ene-Ita
  • Ntufam Engr. Idim Ikpeme
  • Barr. Asuquo Cowan
  • Sir William Archibong
  • Chief (Mrs.) Akpabio Mkpang
  • Chief Gershom Bassey
  • Elder Chief (Mrs.) Christie Ise


Cross section of the Central Working Committee (CWC) of the Obong of Calabar Executive Forum (OCEF)